Adventures in Snowpocalypse 2010

     My husband and I drove to Texas for Christmas this year.  I wanted to tell you all about the hotel nightmare we had on the drive home, to save you all some stress if you are ever in the area.  It was our second day of driving and was for the most part uneventful.  The intermittent snow slowed us down a bit and as the snow became steadier and roads more precarious, we pulled into the town of Flagstaff to find a room for the night.  We were not the only travelers to do so.  The first place we pulled into was full, but the helpful inn keeper had gone through the trouble to call all of the surrounding hotels looking for vacancies.  Most of the hotels were full but he directed us to the Knights Inn that had 5 rooms available. 

     We were not in the position to be picky.  The parking lot already had about 10” of snow on it, so the cars, not having lines to tell them where to park, were not parked in a very efficient manner.   I was not overly concerned with that. We managed to squeeze in.  What I was concerned with were the walk ways and the stairs that were dangerously covered in snow. 

     A side note, to clarify my concern…  I don’t own pants.  Yes, that’s right; I’m one of those ladies who wear dresses exclusively.  I did own a cute pair of jeans last year, but they do not fit me this year, and I refuse to buy a larger size.  Not that I would have packed them anyway.  I live in western Washington at practically sea level and almost never see snow.  We were traveling to Texas where it also never snows.  Well… it never snows enough to count anyway.  I grew up in MN and anything under a foot of snow is just not snow to me.  I was unprepared for a romp up a snow covered flight of stairs with 4” heals on.

     Disgruntled by the safety hazard and the lack of concern on the part of the inn keeper, I decided to just suck it up, figuring that the walks and stairs would be cleared by check out the next day.  The room was grungy; who am I to be picky with a blizzard brewing.  I etched the words, “Never Been Cleaned” into the dust on the TV.  No coffee pot in the room; who does that in this day and age?  The heater was ineffective and only a sheet and comforter on the bed.  We had got a nice blanket for Christmas from the sister-in-law, wonderful.  Sleep… 

    

     Flagstaff was hit hard with 16” of snow by morning.  I stayed in the room while the husband went to speak to the inn keeper.  He came back in a foul mood.  The inn keeper knew nothing about road conditions.  Instead of watching the news or taking care of patrons, he was sitting in the office watching daytime TV, and he removed the coffee pot at precisely 11:00; sacrilege!  A fellow traveler from MN told my husband that the roads were closed and specifically the interstate due to several rolled over semi-trucks.  Another night at this wonderful hotel.  Again, I stayed in the room while my husband went to put chains on the car so we could go shopping for hats, gloves, scarves and a pair of boots for me.  In case you had not guessed, the walk ways and stairs were covered in snow and ice, still.  I watched out the window as the maid struggled to carry a vacuum cleaner over the snow from one room to the next.  I assumed she would have just as hard a time pushing a cleaning cart over it.  Poor girl; I also watched her have some sort of argument with someone in the parking lot.  I couldn’t hear the whole conversation but managed to piece together the gist of it.  Something about kids to raise and not worth losing a job over. 

     At noon the inn keeper barged into the room without even knocking first.  We had not checked out.  He should have known that.  He told me that I needed to stop in the office to reserve the room for another night.  I told him that was exactly what my husband was doing.  He could not do so because no one was in the office.   I voiced my concern for the safety of the stairs and walkways.  The inn keeper, who spoke little English, said he was helpless and the maintenance man broke his leg.  I rolled my eyes and said that if I got hurt on the stairs it would be on his conscience.

     On a brighter note; I got the cutest pair of high heeled boots at the mall in Flagstaff that were surprisingly great in the snow.  The 5” heal acted as a cleat and helped to keep me from sliding around.  More importantly they are so sexy and warm!

Published in: on March 10, 2011 at 7:49 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://softwaregoddess.wordpress.com/2011/03/10/adventures-in-snowpocalypse-2010/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like good times were had by all. Would now be a bad time to mention that I have told you before you need a couple of pairs of jeans.

  2. You and I are alike when it comes to not wearing or even owning a pair of pants/jeans or whatever. I always wear skirts and sometimes dresses. I am glad I live where I do in Southport (UK) because we get very little snow compared to elsewhere. Snow is nice on picture postcards and is nice when you don’t have to drive in it. You would think that wearing high heels in the snow would be a dangerous thing to do but as you say, they helped more than hindered.

    Shirley Anne x


Leave a Reply

